top of page

Considering the weights of shepherds....

Thinking of my pastor and the constant caring and support he gives.... and I am reminded that he needs my love and appreciation and support even more than I need his...

This experiment in blogging is this teaching elder's attempt to share my heart and encourage others to build each other up in the Lord. I have good folks around me; my dear sister-in-the-Lord and friend Amanda, who shared a part of her day to help me prepare for my son's fiance's visit; another sister-in-the-Lord Sina who encourages me by attending my classes and supporting my efforts; my husband, a man of love and patience towards me... so many.....

Being a teaching elder is not quite the burden, responsibility and potential heart-rending that being a pastor can be, but my thoughts go out to those who have the joy and difficulty of leading flocks, both large and small. Pastors are in constant need of prayer and support, but we tend to expect them and their families to be the ones that pray for and support us..... and they do, or should...

I ran across a piece written by a pastor I've never met, but whose words said what my heart and prayers were exploring... Please read and consider this man's thoughts and experiences... and never take your pastors and leaders for granted... they carry you as the burden on their shoulders all the time... give them the kindness of understanding.... Learn, please, from Pastor Rick Whitters clear and needed words.... and make this year a better one for those who have the spiritual responsibility to teach and protect you... http://rickwhitter.com/2014/01/04/5-ways-to-discourage-your-pastor/

bottom of page